Sri Lanka women confirm dates for Pakistan tour

Sri Lanka women confirm dates for Pakistan tour

Sri Lanka Women will play their first major series since the 2020 T20 World Cup in Australia when they tour Pakistan for three T20Is and as many ODIs in May-June this year.

The winners of the Commonwealth Games Qualifiers earlier this year have not played any cricket besides triumphing in that tournament after their planned tour of Pakistan late last year was canned following a change in management at the PCB.

All the matches will be played at Southend Club, Karachi.

The Sri Lanka women and Pakistani teams will arrive in Karachi on May 19 for the three T20Is on May 24, 26, and 28 followed by the ODIs on June 1, 3, and 4 which will be part of the ICC Women’s Championship.

An 11-day camp at the Academy Oval ground adjacent to the National Stadium will be set up for a group of 26 Pakistani players to prepare for the series.

It will be the first series for Pakistan Women at home since West Indies toured the nation back in December 2018.

A PCB release confirmed that it will also be the first international series in Pakistan that will be played outside the hard Managed Event Environment since the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020.

It will also be the first series to kickstart the third edition of the ICC Women’s Championship that will run from 2022 to 2025.

All participants of the series, including the players, team officials, and match officials, will undergo on-arrival tests and will be expected to follow the SOPs to protect themselves from the virus.

As per an accepted practice, anybody who tests positive will be required to undergo five days of isolation.

The Pakistan players will fly to Ireland for a T20I tri-series involving the hosts and world champions Australia following the series before they move to Birmingham in England for eight-team Commonwealth Games.