FBR member makes place in UN tax committee

Our Correspondent

United Nations (UN) Secretary General Antonio Guterres has appointed a distinguished group of 25 tax experts from around the world to serve as members of the United Nations Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters for the 2021 to 2025 term.

Dr Muhammad Ashfaq Ahmed, Member Inland Revenue (Operations) is also included in the UN tax committee.

The UN Tax Committee guides countries’ efforts to advance stronger and more forward-looking tax policies adapted to the realities of globalised trade and investment, an increasingly digi-tised economy and worsening environmental degra-dation.

It assists countries in their efforts to prevent double or multiple taxation as well as non-taxation, broaden their tax base, strengthen their tax administrations, and curb international tax evasion and avoidance.

In welcoming the appointments, President of the Economic and Social Council Munir Akram said, “I am delighted to see that such a diverse and capable group of experts has been appointed.

I have high expectations for the Committee’s continued success in challenging times, which are nevertheless full of opportunity to stem the tide of tax-related illicit financial flows and shore up developing country capacities to mobilise and invest domestic resources in their own development.”

The UN Tax Committee fosters international coop-eration on domestic and international tax matters.

It works closely with observers from government, civil society, business and academia, to develop guidance and encourage an inclusive setting of norms and policies.

Previous articleWAPDA chairman meets Chinese Ambassador
Next articleIMF okays reforms to support low-income countries