Barcelona Femeni put their UEFA Women’s Champions League final disappointment behind them by beating Real Madrid 4-0 to book their place in the Copa de la Reina final.

Lieke Martens, Aitana Bonmati, Mariona Caldentey, and Asisat Oshoala scored a goal each as Barcelona sealed a dominant win.

It was the sixth time the two clubs faced each other this season with Madrid having lost all five previous meetings.

While they were well beaten in the Champions League quarterfinal between the two sides, there were signs that Madrid are getting closer to their Clasico rivals.

Barca, meanwhile, entered the game on the back of that disappointing defeat to Lyon, a team they have never beaten, with questions about their frame of mind heading into the semifinal surrounding them.

However, Barcelona were as emhpatic as they have ever been.

Having won all 35 of their domestic games this season, including winning 30 out of 30 to complete a perfect league campaign, they eradicated those doubts with a dominating display.

Alexia Putellas and Oshoala hit the woodwork early before Martens opened the scoring in the 18th minute.

The Dutch winger directed the ball into the net from a Putellas cross after a fine team move.

Barca failed to add more goals before the break as a combination of sloppy finishing and heroic goalkeeping from Misa Rodriguez kept Madrid in the tie.

That was until the floodgates opened in the second half.

Bonmati added the second in the 47th minute and the game was practically over as a contest five minutes later when Caldentey turned home from a corner.

Oshoala finally got on the scoresheet with 15 minutes left to play after rounding Rodriguez to roll home as eight-time winners Barca advanced to the final for the sixth time in the last seven years.

Jonatan Giraldez’s side will meet Sporting Huelva in Sunday’s final.

A Copa de la Reina win would seal a domestic treble with the Primera Division title and the Spanish Supercopa already wrapped up.

Previous articleMiftah: Govt is committed to reviving the IMF programme
Next articleICC awards ODI status to five new teams