Zimbabwe named three uncapped players against Pakistan


Ahead of the series against Zimbabwe, the Pakistan cricket team tested negative for the coronavirus. The team after a successful tour of South Africa landed in Harare for their next series.

The players were earlier tested on their arrival in South Africa where they stayed in the bio-secure bubble. All squad members have no tested negative on their arrival in Harare, Zimbabwe.

According to sources, the team members reached Harare from Johannesburg through a chartered flight.

“All test results that were conducted on the visiting team on arrival on Saturday in Harare have returned negative. The test results were released on Sunday,” said an official accompanying the team.

The tour to Zimbabwe starts with the opening T20 International at Harare Sports Club on April 21. The second game will be played on 23rd and the third on the 25th.

The first of the two Tests will be played from April 29. Pakistan won the ODI series against South Africa 2-1 and T20I series 3-1.

Sean Williams will lead Zimbabwe in the forthcoming three-match T20I series due to the absence of limited-overs captain Chamu Chibhabha, who also missed the previous series against Afghanistan due to an injury.

Three uncapped players – batsman Tadiwanashe Marumani, pacer Tanaka Chivanga, and spinner Tapiwa Mufudza – have received their maiden call-ups after impressive performances in the domestic T20 tournament.

The experienced duo of Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine are making their comeback to the squad after missing out on the last series against Afghanistan in the UAE due to health issues. The inclusion of the veterans will give a huge boost to the Zimbabwe side.

Luke Jongwe, who last played international cricket for Zimbabwe in January 2016, has also returned to the squad.

All-rounder Sikandar Raza will miss out due to an upper arm injury while all of Richmond Mutumbami, Milton Shumba, Brandon Mavuta, Tarisai Musakanda, and Faraz Akram have been left out.

However, Musakanda, Ainsley Ndlovu, and Bradley Evans have been placed on standby.

The T20I series between Zimbabwe and Pakistan begins on 21 April and will be played behind closed doors at Harare Sports Club.

Pakistan (T20I): Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Haider Ali, Danish Aziz, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mohamamad Wasim Jr, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali, Arshad Iqbal, Usman Qadir
Zimbabwe (T20I): Sean Williams (c), Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Tanaka Chivanga, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Wessely Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Tapiwa Mufudza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano.—Agencies