Voting on no-trust move against PM today

Ijaz Kakakhel

Following the Supreme Court judgement, National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser has summoned a session of the lower house of Parliament today (April 9) for voting on a no-trust motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan.

The session will begin in the morning and it may be prorogued after voting on the no-confidence motion. According to “Orders of the Day” released by the National Assembly, the key session will begin with recitation of Quran, naat and national anthem.

Later, MNA Faheem Khan will invite attention of the Minister for Defence regarding non-payment of salaries to the Councillors in Cantonment Boards of the country, which is causing grave concern amongst the public.

After that, voting on the no-confidence motion moved by Leader of the Opposition Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif against Prime Minister Imran Khan will be held. The opposition says it has more than 172 votes in the 342-seat assembly, which needs a quarter of members present for a quorum.

Saturday’s vote will cap a dramatic week during which the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly sidestepped an initial no-confidence vote before getting the president to dissolve parliament and call fresh elections.

But the Supreme Court Thursday ruled all his actions illegal, and said the national assembly — where Khan has lost his majority — must decide his fate.

The court’s judgement was broader than expected after the chief justice said earlier this week the bench would only rule on the legality of the initial no-confidence motion being blocked.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan People’s Party on Friday asked all the party lawmakers to stay put in Islamabad after NA Speaker Asad Qaiser summoned a session of the lower house for voting on the no-trust motion following SC verdict.

Following the latest developments, the PPP has also asked out of city MNAs to immediately return back to Islamabad. Those MNAs who are out of the federal capital must immediately return back to Islamabad, the PPP leadership directed party lawmakers.


Previous articleNo- confidence motion submitted against Suri
Next articleDaesh commander arrested in Germany