Marriyum says Radio Pakistan, Pakistan TV are country’s assets


Diamond Jubilee awards ceremony held to honor services of Radio Pakistan, PTV artists

Radio Pakistan organized a colorful Diamond Jubilee Awards 2022 ceremony in Islamabad to honor and recognize the services of its legendary artists.

Minister for Information and Broadcasting Marriyum Aurangzeb who was chief guest on the occasion, described Radio Pakistan and PTV as the country’s asset saying they have contributed immensely to promotion of tolerance and tranquility in the society.

The Information Minister said the artists of Radio Pakistan through their voices played a significant role in inculcating good personality traits and creating a congenial environment. She noted that every household has memories of Radio Pakistan.

Marriyum Aurangzeb said the reason behind holding the Diamond Jubilee Awards 2022 ceremony was to honor the services of these artists. She said this awards ceremony shall be made a regular feature, saying only those societies thrive who accord respect to their artists.

The Information Minister was appreciative of the fact that Radio Pakistan and PTV remained resilient and kept their presence in the face of difficult financial situation. Giving credit to their strong and solid foundation, she said we express the commitment that these institutions will stay intact. She said Radio Pakistan and PTV are not stations but they are like a home.

In his remarks on the occasion, Director General Radio Pakistan Sohail Ali Khan said Radio Pakistan over the last seventy five years has truly represented the ideology of Pakistan and greatly contributed to promotion of national solidarity. He said during war times also, the national broadcaster stood shoulder to shoulder with the armed forces to foil the sordid designs of the enemy.Awards were conferred in nineteen categories including to the religious scholars, Qura’as, announcers, anchors of different programmes especially of literary, current affairs, sports and agriculture, Drama Artists and Writers, musicians and newsreaders.

In the categories of Qura’as and religious scholars, the awards were given to Qari Muhammad Iqbal and Abdul Rehman Farooqi respectively.

Best NCAC anchor award was received by Nasreen Naqvi, best newsreader (male) Daman Zaman , best News reader (female) Taskeen Zafar, announcer (Male) Khalid Malik and Announcer (female) Shazia Andleeb.

In the category of women Programme, the recipient was Noshaba Zafar while Tanveer Saleem for Children Program and Nazim Hussain for Agricultural program.

Saahil Khan was declared best Male Voice for Youth while Sheeba Malik the best female voice for Youth.

Hafeez Fatima was conferred upon the best Drama artist award, Nasir Balouch best Drama Writer, Mujahid Hussain best Musician and Muhammad

Malook received in the category of folk music. Khaiyal Muhammad received Mehdi Hassan Award and Taj Mastani Noor Jehan Award.

Superstar awards were received by Ejaz Qaiser, Farooq Sarwar, Tauseeq Haider, Sherbaz Khan Barcha, Ms Najam Ara, Mehdi Zaheer, Saira Naseem (Singer), Muhammad Ali (singer) and Ghulam Abbass (Singer).

The recipients of Lifetime Achievement Awards were: Firdous Jamal, Zia Jalandhari, Khalid Abbas Dar, Dr Rasheeda Hasan and Dr Nasima Khatoon.


Previous articleAmbassador says Iraq wants to established strong economic, trade ties with Pakistan
Next articleNH&MP arranges free eye camp