India declares 6 IOK districts as ‘Hotspot with large outbreaks’


JAMMU India has declared six districts of occupied Kashmir as ‘Hotspot Districts With Large Outbreak’ and classified two others in the category of ‘Hotspot Districts with Clusters’. Indian Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has classified all coronavirus-affected districts across India and occupied Kashmir in three different categories, based on which the steps are being taken to prevent further spread of virus and give relaxations to the people during lockdown accordingly especially after April 20. Out of six districts of Jammu and Kashmir w hich have been classified as ‘Hotspot Districts With Large Outbreak’, four are from Kashmir division and tw o from Jammu, reported Jammubased English daily Excelsior quoting official sources. The districts include Srinagar, Bandipora, Baramulla and Kupw ara in the Kashmir Valley and Jammu and Udhampur in the Jammu region. Maximum cases of COVID-19 positive pa tients have been reported from these six districts in the occupied territory. Shopian district in Kashmir and Rajouri district in Jammu region have been listed as ‘Hotspot Districts with Clusters’. Ganderbal district of Kashmir Valley and Samba district of Jammu have been listed in ‘NonHotspot Districts Reporting cases’ category by the Indian Home Ministry.—KMS

Previous articleAPHC demands release of illegally detained Kashmiris
Next articleChina denies cover-up in coronavirus outbreak