Independents 6, PTI 5, JUI-F 3 and ANP, JI get one seat each in KP Assembly polls


OBSERVER REPORT PESHAWAR The Election Commission of Pakistan on Sunday announced unofficial results for the first-ever provincial elections held in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s recently merged tribal districts. Out of the total 16 KP Assembly seats, independent candidates secured six while the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf won five seats. The Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-F bagged three seats, and the Awami National Party and the Jamaat-eIslami both secured one seat each. PTI’s Anwarzeb Khan bagged 12,951 votes was victorious in PK-100 (Bajaur-I) constituency with JI’s Waheed Gul coming in second with 11,775 votes. Another PTI candidate Ajmal Khan bagged PK-101 (Bajaur-II) seat with 12,194 votes, with JI’s Sahibzada Haroon Rashid securing second position with 10,468 votes. JI’s Sirajuddin Khan secured the highest number of votes – 19,088 – in PK-102 (Bajaur-III) with PTI’s Hafizur Rehman came second with 13,436 votes. In PK-103 (MohmandI), ANP’s Muhammad Nisar Ahmed secured victory with a total of 11,247 votes while PTI’s Rahim Shah could manage to bag 9,669 votes in second place. The official results confirmed that independents Abbasur Rehman, Shafiq Afridi and Bilawal Afridi have won PK-104 (Mohmand-II), PK-105 (Khyber-I) and PK-106 (Khyber-II) with 11,751, 19,733, 12,814 votes, respectively. The runner-up in PK104 (Mohmand-II) was JUI-F’s Muhammad Arif with 9,801 votes, whereas Shermat Khan, an independent candidate, secured the second position in PK105 (Khyber-I) with 10,745 votes. Similarly, Independent candidate Khansher Afridi secured second position with 6,297 votes in PK-106.