Fakhar Zaman, Rizwan’s heroics lead Pakistan to second ODI win over New Zealand


RAWALPINDI – Pakistan’s flamboyant hitter Fakhar Zaman has scored an unbeaten 180* and a quick knock of Rizwan helped Men in Green to claim another comfortable victory against depleted New Zealand, winning the second ODI.

Black Caps, who are touring a South Asian nation, without frontline players, struggled to cope with fast bowler Haris Rauf, and other players despite they dodged Shaheen Afridi’s wrath.

Imam ul Haq could not continue as he returned on 24 off 26. Skipper Babar Azam scored half ton and returned on 66. Abdullah Shafique also failed to score big and he returned on mere 7.

Mohammad Rizwan, who made 54 off 41, helped Team Green to achieve a mammoth target with a quick knock.

Daryl Mitchell’s century, Latham’s heroics lift Kiwis to mamoth 336

In the first innings of the second game, the visitors posted difficult target for Babar XI as Daryl Mitchell’s striking century and Tom Latham’s 98 helped their side to give 336/5.

New Zealand started with cautious approach as after opener Will Young returned after scoring mere 19.

After the early blow, Daryl Mitchell and Chad Bowes gained momentum and stitched raised 86 in 80 balls before Pakistani ace pacer Haris Rauf dismiss the Chad after his first half-ton, the latter hit seven fours on his way to a run-a-ball 51.

Mitchell, who plays for all format, pushed Black Caps along with Tom Latham and the duo played 183-run partnership for the third wicket before young blood Naseem Shah outclassed Mitchell. He remained top-scorer for his side with striking 119-ball off 129, courtesy of eight boundaries and three maximum.

Following Mitchell, the vice captain too returned to pavilion after falling victim to Haris Rauf. He scored 98 off just 85 deliveries, hitting eight boundaries and a six. James Neesham then scored 17 and Henry Nicholls hits 6 to finish in style.

For Team Green, Haris Rauf remained on fire with figures of 78-4 and Naseem Shah got one wicket.


Pakistan won the toss and sent Black Caps to bat in the second one-day international in Rawalpindi on Saturday.

Babar Azam led Team Green made three changes for today’s game as Ihsanullah added for his ODI debut. Usama Mir and Abdullah Shafique were also added to the squad while Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shadab Khan, and Shan Masood got rest for the second game.

On the other hand, Kiwis also replaced Adam Milne and Blair Tickner against James Neesham and Henry Shipley.

Pakistan Playing XI: Babar Azam (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Agha Salman, Abdullah Shafique, Ihsanullah, Usama Mir

New Zealand Playing XI: Tom Latham (captain), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Matt Henry, Henry Shipley, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi, James Neesham, Will Young