ECP fines Bilawal, PPP leaders with Rs50,000 each

Staff Reporter

The Election Commission of Pakistan(ECP) on Friday slapped PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and other party leaders with fines of Rs50,000 each for violating the election code of conduct during their Peshwar rally.

PPP held its 54th foundation day in Peshawar on November 30, where the party’s central leadership was present ahead of local body elections in the city.

The elections will be held in seven tehsils and 357 village and neighbourhood councils of Peshawar and the first phase set to take place on December 19, where polls will take place in 17 districts. The next phase will be held on January 16.

The ECP said the PPP leaders had violated section 30 of the Code of Conduct, which states: “The executive authorities in the federation and in the provinces and elected representatives of a local government shall neither use state resources in any constituency where election is being held for unfair advantage of a particular candidate or political party nor exercise undue influence affecting the interest of a candidate or party for participating in any election.”

Notices have been served to Chief Minister Sindh Murad Ali Shah, MNAs Khurshid Shah and Abdul Qadir Patel, and MPAs Saeed Ghani, Yasmin Orkazai, and Nisar Ahmed Khuhro.

Previous articleEU member states agree to take in 40,000 Afghans
Next articlePeople forced to pay tributes to General Rawat’