UAE allows travellers from restricted countries to attend ‘Expo 2020’ India and Pakistan entry remains suspended

News Desk

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has allowed eight categories of travellers to fly to the Gulf state from countries from where passengers’ entry is suspended due to coronavirus restrictions.

The latest addition to the exempted categories is Expo 2020 Dubai participants, according to Kahleej Times.

Passenger entry from 16 destinations, including India, Pakistan, South Africa and Indonesia, to the UAE remains suspended until further notice.

According to the safety circular issued by the UAE’s General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) last week, exempted travellers have to abide by stringent Covid-19 safety measures, including a 10-day quarantine period.

The exempted passengers will be required to submit negative PCR (Covid-19 test) result within 48 hours from the date of departure.

The test must have been taken at an accredited laboratory and the result must have a QR code.

They must get a PCR test done on arrival, followed by two others on day four and eight, as per the official guidelines. They have to quarantine for 10 days and must wear a monitoring and tracking device.

Dubbed as “the world’s greatest show”, the exhibition will begin on October 1, 2021, and end on March 31, 2022.

According to the Expo 2020 website, pavilions from 191 countries will be set up at the site. The Expo site will have up to 60 live events a day — including film nights, poetry readings, art activations, musical concerts, cultural tours and parades — as well as more than 200 food and beverage options.

Previous articleBuzdar: Smart lockdown can be imposed if cases increase
Next articleThree PTI women elected unopposed in AJK on reserved seats PPP, PML-N get one seat each