Statistical review of National T20 2021-22


The 18th edition of the National T20 completed with Khyber Pakhtunkhwa winning the title after beating Central Punjab by seven wickets in the final here recently at Gaddafi Stadium.
Here is a look at the records made during the action-packed tournament.

Back-to-back titles for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa After having won National T20, Pakistan Cup and being joint-winners of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy in the last season, they have begun the 2021-22 season with another National T20 silverware.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa are only the fourth team after Sialkot Stallions, Lahore Lions and Peshawar, to win back-to-back titles in the history National T20.

A new record for Sahibzada Farhan Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s Sahibzada Farhan was a driving force behind his team’s title win. His 447 runs are the most by any batter in one edition of National T20, breaking Kamran Akmal’s record of 432 runs for Lahore Whites in 2017.

Farhan scored his runs at an average of 40.63, a strike-rate of 132.24 and with three 50s, including one in the semi-final against Northern.

2021 has been a terrific white-ball year for Charsadda-born batter as, at the start of the year, he also scored 487 runs at 54.11 and hit three centuries in the Pakistan Cup. Iftikhar Ahmed’s numbers Player of the tournament and the final had a dream run in this National T20.

Iftikhar Ahmed scored 45 not out off 19 balls and took three wickets for five runs in the final against Central Punjab and finished the tournament with 409 runs and eight wickets at an economy of 5.57 (the best by anyone who bowled at least 10 overs in the tournament).

Iftikhar also hit 24 sixes, the most by anyone in this year’s edition, and had a tournament strike-rate of 170.41.

The most impressive aspect of Iftikhar’s runs scoring was his average of 102.25. The only batter in the tournament history with a higher average in one season is Salman Butt – 328 runs at 109.33 in the 2017 edition.

Wahab Riaz – the most prolific bowler Wahab Riaz, who also captained Central Punjab in the absence of Babar Azam, became the most prolific bowler in National T20.—APP

Previous articleCOMSATS’ workshop highlights remedies for mental health
Next articleT20 World Cup: Pak cricket squad leaves for Dubai