Real Madrid defeated Liverpool 1-0 to win the Champions League for the record-extending 14th time in the history of the competition.

The final was delayed for more than half an hour as police tried to stop people trying to force their way into the Stade de France.

The match began as many apex clashes do, with both teams feeling each other out and trying not to make any mistakes that will bring early trouble.

It was Liverpool that soon began carving out chances with ease with Salah and Thiago testing Courtois’s resolve. The keeper made a good save to keep the efforts out.

Sadio Mane was the one that went close next as his shot was palmed onto the post by Courtois as Liverpool turned up the heat.

But Madrid soon found their footing and almost went ahead before halftime.

Karim Benzema had the ball in the net as he often has in this Champions League campaign but an offside call ruled out the goal.

The pattern continued in the second half with Liverpool threatening but Real Madrid showing the same resolve that carried them to the Champions League final.

Madrid though struck first. Valverde’s sumptuous cross was turned in by Vinicius Jnr for what turned out to be the only goal of the game.

Liverpool tried again and again but Courtois stood firm until the final whistle was blown.

It was the kind of win everyone had come to expect of them as they used to same formula to knock out PSG and Manchester City.

Real Madrid have now won 8 Champions League finals they have been a part of. Their last loss came against Liverpool in 1981.

Carlo Ancelotti also becomes the first manager to win the trophy 4 different times as Real ends their season with two trophies, the La Liga and the Champions League.

Liverpool on the other hand failed to win the treble after being denied a historic quadruple by Manchester City.

They finish their season with two domestic cups, the Carabao Cup and the FA Cup.