PTI victorious in cantonment board polls held across Pakistan

PTI victorious in cantonment board polls held across Pakistan

ISLAMABAD – The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) emerged as victorious in overall cantonment board elections as it bagged 63 seats.

According to unofficial results of 212 wards where elections were conducted on Sunday, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) is runner up with 55 seats. Both PTI and PML-N were well ahead in their respective strongholds of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Punjab.

While the ruling PTI wiped out the PML-N in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, winning 15 of the 37 wards in 11 cantonment boards, it lagged far behind in Punjab, with just 31 seats to the PML-N’s.

Overall, Independent candidates won from 49 seats, according to unofficial results.


The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) both won 14 seats in Sindh. The PTI, on the other hand, became the single biggest political party in Karachi’s cantonments, capturing 14 of the 42 general seats.

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement with 10 seats, including seven in Hyderabad, independent candidates won seven seats, the Jamaat-i-Islami five seats, and the PML-N three.

The outlawed Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan, which fielded 84 candidates in cantonment board elections across the country, failed to win a single seat.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

According to unofficial results from across all 37 wards in KP’s nine cantonment boards, the PTI won 15 seats, followed by nine independents, while the PML-N won all four seats in its Hazara stronghold. The PPP and the ANP, won three and two seats, respectively.


According to unofficial results from across all 119 wards in Punjab’s 20 cantonment boards, the PTI won 31 seats, PML-N 48 and JI bagged 2 seats.

As many as 30 indenpendent candidates won the polls while two elected unopposed,


The Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) won two of the 9 seats in Balochistan, while the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) gained three wards. The independent candidates won three more seats while one elected unopposed.

Read more:

Previous articleCOVID-19: Pakistan’s daily caseload continues to decline
Next articleAsad Umar says ‘Imran Khan only national leader,’, Shehbaz congratulates PML-N