Ramiz Raja elected new chairman of PCB

Ramiz Raja elected new chairman of PCB

Ramiz Raja, a former Pakistan captain, was chosen as the new chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) today any resistance.

Ehsan Mani, the PCB’s chief executive, stepped down last month after finishing his three-year tenure.

Today, the PCB conducted its election for a new chairman in Lahore.

The election was held by PCB Election Commissioner Justice (retd) Sheikh Azmat Saeed, who also presided over a special meeting to elect the 36th PCB Chairman.

Members of the BoG will attend the special meeting to elect the next PCB chairman, including Aasim Wajid Jawad, Alia Zafar, Asad Ali Khan, Arif Saeed, Javed Kurieshi, Ramiz Raja, and Wasim Khan.

Ramiz Raja vows to ensure Pakistan cricket grow stronger

Addressing the BoG meeting following his election, Ramiz Raja said, “I am thankful to all of you for electing me as the PCB Chairman and look forward to working with you to ensure Pakistan cricket continues to thrive and grow stronger, both on and off-the-field.”

“One of my key focuses will be to help introduce in the Pakistan men’s cricket team the same culture, mind-set, attitude and approach that once made Pakistan one of the most feared cricket playing nations,” he said.

The newly elected PCB president said that as an organisation, we must rally behind the national team and give them with the needed assistance and support so that they can deliver the kind of cricket that fans demand from them each time they take the field.

“Obviously, as a former cricketer, my other priority will be to look into the welfare of our past and present cricketers. The game has and will always be about the cricketers and, as such, they deserve more recognition and respect from their parent institution,” he added

At 2:15 p.m., the newly-elected PCB chairman will hold a press conference at the Bob Woolmer Indoor School, after the election.

Read more: https://pakobserver.net/pakistan/

Read more: https://pakobserver.net/sports/

Previous articleAsad Umar says ‘Imran Khan only national leader,’, Shehbaz congratulates PML-N
Next articleHassan Ali trolled by colleagues for sharing ‘Rishta picture’