Quetta Gladiators beat Karachi Kings to stay alive in PSL8


RAWALPINDI – Martin Guptill went on a rampage as he played an impressive knock of 86*, helping Quetta Gladiators to outshine beleaguered Karachi Kings in the must-win game of Pakistan Super League season 8.

Karachi Kings remained on top early in the second innings but lost momentum in the last 10 overs.

Chasing 165, Gladiators which are lingering at the last of the points table, again deteriorated. Newbie Omair Bin Yousuf returned to the hut in second. Iftikhar Ahmed again failed to score big as he could only add four runs.

Purple Force was on 63/5 when Martin Guptill took charge with skipper Sarfaraz. The duo stitched a much-needed 95. Kiwi star slammed 86 runs, with nine boundaries and four sixers. Captain contributed 29 off 25. For Karachi Kings, Tabraiz Shamsi took two wickets.

Imad Wasim led Kings posted 164 on the board, with half ton by Adam Rossington, followed by a late boost by skipper Imad Wasim and Aamer Yamin.

The squad faced early blows as opener Matthew Wade returned to the hut on a golden duck, with Naseem Shah giving his side the perfect start. Tayyab Tahir then continued momentum and stitched a decent partnership with Rossington but Purple Force pacer Aimal Khan struck in his first over to dismiss him.

Kings lost two major players in the first powerplay, Adam Rossington then continued the onslaught with Qasim Akram, registering 69 off 45 deliveries.

Seasoned player Shoaib Malik again failed to score any big as he returned on 13. Captain Imad Wasim gave his side a much-needed boost. Gladiators’ Naveen-ul-Haq then removed Rossington with a short-pitch delivery.

Ace speedster Naseem Kings then outfoxed James Fuller with a perfect Yorker, in a sigh of relief for Purple Force. Despite several blows, Yamin and the skipper advanced Kings to a decent total of 164/6.

Quetta Gladiators skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed earlier won the toss and decided to field first against Karachi Kings in Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8.


Quetta Gladiators: Martin Guptill, Omair Bin Yousuf, Sarfaraz Ahmed (c), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Umar Akmal, Dwaine Pretorius, Naseem Shah, Umaid Asif, Mohammad Hasnain, Naveen-ul-Haq.

Karachi Kings: Matthew Wade, Adam Rossington, Tayyab Tahir, Qasim Akram, Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim (c), James Fuller, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Amir, Tabraiz Shamsi, Mohammad Musa