PM forms committees to woo disgruntled allies


Staff Reporter


Prime Minister Imran Khan has formed three committees comprising members of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) in order to work in liaison with political allies, a notification from the Prime Minister’s Office said on Thursday.
A four-member committee has been constituted to work alongside PTI’s Sindh allies — Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan and Grand Democratic Alliance. The committee comprises Planning Minister Asad Umar, who will be the convener, Sindh Governor Imran Ismail, Leader of the Opposition in Sindh Assembly Firdous Shamim Naqvi and PTI Sindh president Haleem Adil Sheikh.
A three-member committee, comprising Punjab Governor Chaudhry Sarwar, who will be the convener, Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar and Minister for Education Shafqat Mahmood will coordinate with PML-Q — PTI’s allies in Punjab. Another three-member committee, with Defence Minister Pervez Khattak as convener and comprising National Assembly Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri and lawmaker Mir Khan Muhammad Jamali, will work in close liaison with the Balochistan Awami Party (BAP), Balochistan National Party-Mengal (BNP-M) and Jamhoori Wattan Party. Defence Minister Khattak will be the chairperson of all committees, the notification said.
The decision to form committees was taken during a meeting held in the PM Office, where the “process of PTI’s engagement with its allies” was discussed “in detail”. “Prime Minister felt that this process needed to be strengthened and formalised so that there were no gaps in communication between all the allies forming the government,” the notification read.

Previous articlePakistani man gets top post in New York police’s volunteer force
Next articleShahbaz takes Daily Mail to court for defaming him