Islamabad United hold nerve in sensational win over Multan Sultans in PSL8 thriller


RAWALPINDI – Islamabad United raked accolades by snatching victory by two wickets against Multan Sultans in a sensational Pakistan Super League 8 game in the garrison city of Rawalpindi on Tuesday.

Faheem Ashraf’s amazing 48-run knock restricted Rizwan-led Sultans from qualifying for the playoff as United pulled off the highest successful run chase of the ongoing Twenty20 league.

Chasing a big target of 206, United were struggling in the second half of the game until Faheem Ashraf displayed A-game and snatched the victory from Sultan’s jaws. The star player hit two boundaries and one exceptional maximum to clinch the win.

Know for being the good old-fashioned pinch hitter, Faheem continued momentum with Mohammad Wasim Jr. to bring his side in a dominating position. Skipper Shadab Khan earlier contributed with his knock of 44 and Kiwi star Colin Munro registered 40 to overshadow Sultan’s winning streak.

The duo stitched crucial partnership in a not so easy chase which is said to be the highest successful run chase in the history of country’s much-trumpeted cricket league.

For the Sultans, Anwar Ali got 3 scalps while Ihsanullah and Usama Mir got two wickets each.

In the first half of Tuesday’s thriller, Tim David gave his side a perfect start with half-century off just 20 balls. Australian star slammed a stunning knock to boost United in the crucial game. He made 60 off 27 balls with four boundaries and five sixers. Newlywed Shan Masood then continued momentum and played a quick knock of 75 off 50.

With dozen boundaries, the left-handed batter went on a rampage. Skipper Mohammad Rizwan gave a steady start and the duo made 57 runs together. The flamboyant hitter scored 33 off 18 balls before getting back to hut off Shadab’s bowling.

Red-hot Shadab Khan and Wasim bagged two scalps each while Faheem Ashraf took one.


Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (c), Shan Masood, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Anwar Ali, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Ilyas, Ihsanullah

Islamabad United: Alex Hales, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Colin Munro, Shadab Khan (c), Azam Khan, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Mubasir Khan, Rumman Raees, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Fazalhaq Farooqi