Imran bars PTI MNAs from voting on no-trust motion

US sees Pakistan useful only to clean up

Prime Minister Imran Khan has barred the ruling PTI lawmakers from attending the National Assembly session on the day of voting on no-trust motion, which is likely to be held in the first week of April.

The premier issued the directives as head / leader of the parliamentary party of PTI on Tuesday, a day after the no-confidence motion was tabled in the lower house of the parliament against him by Opposition Leader Shehbaz Sharif.

“All the members of the Parliamentary Party of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf in the National Assembly of Pakistan shall abstain from voting/ not attend the meeting of the National Assembly on the date when the said resolution is set out on the agenda of the National Assembly for voting,” read a communiqué issued by the PTI.

“No member of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf shall attend or make himself/herself available at the time and day of voting on the resolution of No-Confidence,” it added.

The handout said only designated parliamentary members will speak on behalf of PTI during the course of debate on the motion against the premier in the NA.


Previous articleArticle 63-A does not mention lifetime disqualification: SC
Next articlePM takes PTI leadership into confidence on Elahi choice as CM