Zahid Mahmood to be named in Pakistan’s T20I squad




Leg spinner Zahid Mahmood is in line to be named in Pakistan’s T20I squad for the series against South Africa after it was confirmed that Shadab Khan will not be available for the three-match series.

Zahid Mahmood (born 20 March 1988) is a Pakistani cricketer who plays for Southern Punjab.[1] He made his first-class debut for Hyderabad in the 2009–10 Quaid-e-Azam Trophy on 9 November 2009, making a duck in the first innings and finishing 16 not out in the second. He finished his maiden first-class season with twenty-nine runs and four wickets from three matches. He made his List A debut for Hyderabad in the Royal Bank of Scotland Cup in the 2009–10 season, taking two wickets.

Sources said that Pakistani selectors have had initial discussions on the composition of the team for the series. The squad is likely to be named at the end of the first Test in Karachi.
Other names being considered for the series, include Ammad Butt, Aamir Yamin, Sharjeel Khan, and Azam Khan.

Sources believe that Abdullah Shafiq, who was part of T20I squad that toured New Zealand, is unlikely to retain his place in the team. Wahab Riaz’s performance in New Zealand was also discussed among selectors.

The three T20I series between Pakistan and South Africa will be played in Lahore next month with matches being scheduled on 11th, 13th and 14th of February.
Moreover, the former Pakistan Test cricketer and former chief selector Iqbal Qasim believes Pakistan has selected a balanced side for the first Test match.

But he says a good partnership could steady the ship. In his opinion, the performance of Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam and Mohammad Rizwan is crucial.—APP

Read More: Eighth Covid case hits Pakistan cricketers in New Zealand

South African cricket team kicks off practice sessions in Karachi Proteas squad tests negative for Covid-19

Previous articleWest Indies’ Roach aims to regroup in Bangladesh Tests
Next articleT20 World Cup: ICC seeks security, visa guarantees from India for Pakistani players