Pakistan Cricket Board has confirmed Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Darren Sammy, and Javed Miandad as the mentors for the upcoming Pakistan Junior League which will take place in October.

Miandad will be a league-wide mentor while Afridi, Sammy, and Shoaib have been chosen as team mentors.

PCB is counting on their experience to shape future stars as combinedly they share six major world titles, 1,559 international matches, 43,057 runs, and 992 wickets between them.

Shahid Afridi, Sammy, and Malik will be part of the team dug-outs in the build-up to and during the Pakistan Junior League, which will be played at the backend of the Pakistan versus England T20I which is scheduled to conclude on 2 October.

The board will name three more team mentors in due course.

Alongside Pakistani legends of the game, Darren Sammy has enjoyed plenty of affection from Pakistani fans for helping international cricket return to the country.

In addition to the team mentor roles, the four household names will also serve as event ambassadors and will use their knowledge, influence, and attraction to promote and publicize the first-of-its-kind event.

Ramiz Raja, the chairman of PCB said: “I am delighted that we have been able to attract Javed Miandad, Daren Sammy, Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik as mentors for the Pakistan Junior League. Their involvement in the Pakistan Junior League will help us achieve one of our event objectives that revolves around helping future generation of cricketers to achieve the champions and match-winning approach and mindset.

“The involvement of the four icons also confirms that we are on track for delivering a successful event that will go on to help Pakistan cricket in more than one way. Besides creating a winning environment and developing skills and temperament of the teens, we are committed to developing new properties and Pakistan Junior League is an event in that direction.”

The Pakistan Junior League will be played on a single league basis with the top-four sides progressing to the playoffs.

Previous articleNA approves amendments in budget to impose Rs 50 levy on petroleum products
Next articleAndy Murray to join Federer and Nadal in Laver Cup