PTI’s 12 out of 15 seats came against its own ex-members


Lahore: Sunday’s by-polls were historic in many ways. The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) convincingly won 15 seats out of 20, shaking the foundation of the once-mighty PML-N in its home ground of Punjab.

Read: PTI crushes PML-N in Sunday’s by-polls; What’s next?

However, one key fact to take away from the elections’ results is that out of the total 15 seats of the PTI, 12 came against its own ex-members, who were de-seated by the ECP for voting Hamza Shehbaz against the party’s directions, and who later joined the PML-N to contest in the by-polls.

The 12 MPs who participated in the elections on PML-N’s tickets but failed to win are:

  1. Saeed Akbar Khan (PP-90 Bhakkar-ii)
  2. Mohammad Ajmal (PP-97 Faisalabad-i)
  3. Nazir Ahmed Chohan (PP-167 Lahore-XXIV)
  4. Mohammad Amin Zulqurnain (PP-170 Lahore-XXVII)
  5. Malik Nauman Langrial (PP-202 Sahiwal-VII)
  6. Mohammad Salman (PP-217 Multan VII)
  7. Zawar Hussain Warraich (PP-224 Lodhran-I)
  8. Zahra Batool (PP-272 Muzaffargarh-V)
  9. Mohammad Tahir (PP-282 Layyah-iii)
  10. Mian Khalid Mehmood (PP-140 Sheikhupura-VI)
  11. Mehar Mohammad Aslam (PP-127 Jhang IV)
  12. Faisal Hayat (PP-15 Jhang-II)

Only 3 former PTI MPs were able to turn the results in their favour.

  1. Raja Sagheer Ahmed (PP-7, Rawalpindi-ii)
  2. Mohammad Sabtain Raza (PP-273 Muzaffargarh VI)
  3. Fida Hussain Watto (PP-237 Bahawalnagar-vi)
Previous articleAsia Cup 2022 likely headed to UAE
Next articleThe ECP’s inaction against top bureaucrats campaigning against PPP raises questions  going into phase 2 of the Sindh LG elections on 24th July 2022