PTI triumphs over PDM in by-polls with six NA, two PA seats


Imran wins six out of seven NA seats; PPP captures 2 MNA, PML-N gains just 1 PA seat; ECP takes notice of rigging in NA-237

Uunofficial and unconfirmed results of the by-polls held on Sunday showed that the PTI has recapturedsix of the eight National Assembly seats, while also grabbed two Punjab Assembly seats that were previously held by PML-N.

While the PTI grabbed a lion’s share of the seats, the party also lost two of the NA seats — NA-157 Multan-IV and NA-237 Malir-II —that it had won in 2018. Its defeat on both the seats came at the hands of PPP.

The constituencies where the PTI has won are NA-22 Mardan, NA-31 Peshawar, NA-24 Charsadda, NA-108 Faisalabad-VIII, PP-209 Khanewal and PP-241 Bahawal­nagar.

The PML-N got just one of the dozen seats up for grabs, winning PP-139 Sheikhupura-V, which was its own previously.

Unofficial and unconfirmed results show PTI has won 6 NA and 2 PA seats; PPP clinches 2 NA seats while PML-N wins just 1 PA seat

Workers of PTI and ANP clash in Peshawar polling station; one injured, two taken into custody

Rana Sanaullah issued notice by Punjab election commission for code of conduct violation in Faisalabad

PTI claims PPP “goons” attacked MPA Bilal Ghaffar in Karachi; police say it was a personal dispute

PPP’s Saeed Ghani says PTI losing and making excuses

PPP’s Sharjeel posts video and claims PTI worker threatening election official in Karachi

Three arrested in Sheikhupura for allegedly possessing weapons

The by-polls, held on eight National Assembly and three Punjab Assembly seats, saw a largely peaceful polling process, which was marred by reports of clashes between PTI and ANP workers in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, PTI’s claims of its lawmaker being “attacked” in Karachi as well as allegation of rigging by a polling official.

While the PTI is ahead on multiple seats, PPP has clinched NA-157 Multan, where Ali Musa Gilani, son of former prime minister Senator Yousuf Raza Gilani, has beaten Meher Bano Qureshi, daughter of PPP leader and former foreign minister Shah Mah­mood Qureshi. PML-N, on the other hand, has triumphed in PP-139 Sheikhupura, according to unofficial and unconfirmed results.

PTI Secretary General Asad Umar said that the direction of the election results was “another chance for the decision makers to realise their mistake and take Pakistan towards a new election.”

As the midnight approached, Umar spoke to the media in Islamabad and said that it would be “better” if the decision makers pay attention to the nation’s will, following which “there would be no need for a long march”.

Regarding the PTI defeat on Multan seat, he said the party would analyse the reasons but also alleged that the PPP had “bought the loyalties in the constituency”.

As the NA-31 results started pouring in, PTI party workers at a sub-election camp in Peshawar began premature celebrations and allegedly opened aerial firing. A police team arrived at the scene and attempted to make arrests, leading to clashes with PTI workers.

ANP’s losing candidate in the constituency, Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour, refused to accept the results, accusing the provincial government of “injustice” against him and said he would approach the ECP and high court.

The provincial election commissioner took notice of alleged rigging at NA-237’s polling station 108. The incident came to light when a video, purportedly of Presiding Officer Mazhar Bhatti emerged where in he said that at around 2pm, some unidentified people barged into the polling station, snatched ballot papers and started stamping them.

Subsequently, the provincial election commissioner summoned a report from NA-237’s returning officer and district returning officer. He said that fake votes cast in the NA-237 by-poll would not be counted. PTI leader Khurram Sher Zaman accused the PPP of being behind the alleged rigging.

Meanwhile, Sindh Information Minister Sharjeel Memon accused the PTI of “blatantly” violating the ECP code of conduct and causing hooliganism at various polling stations.

“These people tried to create chaos and threatened innocent voters in a bid to influence them.


Previous articleDar calls for greater support from IMF, WB
Next articleBilawal felicitates CPC on 20th National Congress