Vote count underway in hotly-contested NA-249 by-election


KARACHI – Vote count is underway across the 276 polling stations after polling time ended at 5pm in by-election for the hotly-contested NA-249 constituency.

Initial unofficial results show PPP’s Abdul Qadir Mandokhel is leading the race with PML-N’s Miftah Ismail is at second position while PTI’s candidate is far behind.

The Sindh government has declared a public holiday today (Thursday, April 29) for the residents of NA-249 in order to ensure high turnout.

As the country battles with the third wave of the pandemic, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has deployed special teams to ensure the implementation of the SOPs.

Besides 18 independent candidates, PML-N’s Miftah Ismail, PTI’s Amjad Afridi, PPP’S Qadir Khan Mandokhel, Karachi’s former mayor Mustafa Kamal and MQM’s Hafiz Mursaleen are vying for the seat.

There are over 339,000 registered voters in NA-249, including 201,656 male and 137,935 female voters. Out of total 276 polling stations, the ECP has declared 184 polling stations highly sensitive and 92 others sensitive.

The NA-249 constituency fell vacant after Faisal Vawda resigned to contest Senate elections.

Meanwhile, PML-N candidate Miftah Ismail has asked the ECP to extend the polling time by two hours.

PTI leads in Surveys

The ruling PTI is leading in every survey conducted in the NA-249 constituency of Karachi, the party leaders claimed.

Federal Information Minister Chaudhry Fawad Hussain said that the PTI will win the election today.

Read more:


Previous articleCovid-19: Pakistan records 5,000 new infections
Next articlePakistan Army chief, US defence secretary discuss troops withdrawal from Afghanistan