PCB releases jam packed schedule of Pakistan Cricket teams

Hasan Ali and Naseem Shah return as New Zealand bats first in second test against Pakistan

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced a comprehensive schedule for Men’s and Women’s cricket teams for the coming year.

Pakistan men’s national cricket team is scheduled to play seven Tests, 17 ODIs and a minimum of 25 T20Is in the next 12 months as the PCB confirmed and unveiled their upcoming international commitments.

The seven ICC World Test Championship fixtures will be against – Sri Lanka (2), England (3), and New Zealand (2) – while the 12 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League matches will be versus West Indies, Sri Lanka, Netherlands and New Zealand (three each).

In the shortest format of the game, the men’s side will feature in the ACC Asia Cup T20 in August/September and the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Australia 2022 from 15 October to 15 November where they are guaranteed a minimum of five T20Is each.

Outside the two events, their other T20Is will be against England (seven), West Indies (three), and New Zealand (five).

New Zealand, in addition to the five ODIs in April 2023, will also play five T20Is.

The women’s national side also has a demanding schedule on its plate.

PCB expects the coming year to be a challenging yet exciting experience that will provide them more opportunities to improve and excel as well as to showcase their talent and potential to the world.

The women’s side will feature in three ICC Women’s Championship series matches against Sri Lanka, Ireland (both home) and Australia (away), the Birmingham Commonwealth Games, the 19th Asian Games in Guangzhou, the ACC Women’s T20 Cup (venue TBC), the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2023 South Africa and the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 South Africa.

In addition to this, Pakistan women will take on Ireland and Australia in a triangular T20 series in Belfast before the Commonwealth Games.

While there is more international cricket for the men’s and women’s sides as compared to the 2021-22 season, Pakistan is set to host more international cricket in the coming season.

West Indies, England, and New Zealand men’s sides will tour Pakistan twice each, while Sri Lanka and Ireland women will visit Pakistan in May/June and October/November.

This exciting and back-to-back international cricket will be in addition to the 2022-23 domestic cricket season, which will run concurrently with the international season.

Details and schedule of 2022-23 domestic cricket season will be announced in due course.

Pakistan international commitments (May 2022-April 2023, dates/venues to be announced in due course)

24 May – 5 June – Sri Lanka Women in Karachi (3 ODIs & 3 T20Is)

5-12 June – West Indies Men in Rawalpindi (3 ODIs)

Jul-Aug – Pakistan Men to Sri Lanka        (2 Tests & 3 ODIs)

12-24 Jul – Pakistan Women to Belfast for tri-series (4T20Is)

25 Jul-8 Aug – Pakistan Women for Birmingham Commonwealth Games (7 T20Is)

Aug – Pakistan Men to Netherlands (three ODIs)

1-17 Sept – Pakistan Men to Sri Lanka for ACC T20 Cup (5 T20Is)

10-25 Sep – Pakistan Women and Pakistan Shaheens to Gangzhou, China, for 19th Asia Games

Sep-Oct – England Men to Pakistan (7 T20Is)

Oct – ACC Women’s T20 Asia Cup (8 T20Is, venue TBC)

15 Oct-15 Nov – ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia, (5 T20Is)

30 Oct-19 Nov – Ireland Women to Lahore/Karachi (3 ODIs & 3 T20Is)

Nov-Dec – England Men to Pakistan         (3 Tests)

Dec-Jan – New Zealand Men to Pakistan (2 Tests & 3 ODIs)

4 Jan-1 Feb – Pakistan Women to Australia (3 ODIs & 3 T20Is)

Jan – West Indies Men to Pakistan (3 T20Is)

Jan-Feb – ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup, South Africa

2-26 Feb – ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, South Africa

Apr-May – New Zealand Men to Pakistan (5 ODIs & 5 T20Is)