Kamal, Miftah among 10 candidates for NA-249 by-poll



Overall 10 candidates hailing from separate parties have so far submitted their nomination forms to contest by-polls on NA-249 that was vacated by Federal Minister Faisal Vadwa on the day of becoming a Senator.

According to the details, the most prominent among those who had submitted the nominations included Mustafa Kamal of the PSP and Miftah Ismail from the PML-N.

Besides them, Syed Hafeezuddin, Humayun Usman of the PSP, Ashraf Jabbar Qureshi from PTI, MQM-P’s Muhammad Mursaleen and Fayyaz Qaimkhani, Nazir Ahmed Kamalvi of the TLP, Ahmed from Sunni Tehreek, ANP’s Aurangzeb Buneri are also among the candidates who have submitted their nominations.

Other candidates including Nisar Khuhro of the PPP had also received nomination papers to contest from NA-249, however, they are yet to submit them as the deadline to submit the nominations is due to expire on Wednesday (tomorrow).

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has slapped a ban on transfers and postings of the government officials in the constituency, while the announcement of development schemes is also prohibited.

The ECP has stated that the candidates can submit their nomination papers from March 13 to March 17, following which a final list of candidates will be displayed.

Scrutiny of the nomination papers will be held on March 25 while appeals against rejection or acceptance of papers could be filed on March 29 and a decision on these would be announced on April 6.

Candidates can withdraw their nomination papers until April 7 and the election symbol will be allotted on April 8. Polling for the by-election will be held on April 29.

Previous articleSenate Chairman, deputy call on Governor
Next articleSIU detains four suspects from ‘separatist group’