Islamic Emirate asks UNSC to lift sanctions on officials


The Islamic Emirate asked the UN Security Council to lift the travel bans on the current government officials.

The Islamic Emirate’s deputy spokesperson, Bilal Karimi, said that an isolating approach would not work and that there should be less of a gap between the Islamic Emirate and the world.

The Islamic Emirate always works to minimize gaps: isolationist policies, and policies that create gaps and lead to problems. History has shown that did not produce any results, I mean positive results,” Karimi said.

The travel ban exemption for officials of the Islamic Emirate has not been extended by the UN Security Council in more than three months.

Meanwhile, some experts on international relations believe that the Islamic Emirate’s refusal to accede to the demands of the international community is what prevented the extension of the travel exemption for its officials.

“The Taliban should respond to the demands of the international community as a standard country and a standard government,” said Aziz Marij, former diplomat.

According to the deputy minister of economy, the country’s political and economic sectors will suffer as a result of the United Nations Security Council’s decision to not extend the travel exemption for some Islamic Emirate officials.

The travel exemption for prominent members of the Islamic Emirate should be extended to boost political and economic cooperation between the Islamic Emirate and the international community,” said Abdul Latif Nazari, deputy minister of the Economy.

The first deputy prime minister, Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar; the second deputy prime minister, Mullah Abdul Salam Hanafi; the political deputy of the prime minister, Mawlawi Abdul Kabir; the a cting minister of foreign affairs, Amir Khan Muttaqi; the political deputy of the foreign ministry, Sher Mohammad Abbas Stanekzai; the minister of mines and petroleum, Shahabuddin Delawar; the intelligence director Abdulhaq Wasiq; minister of information and culture, Khairullah Khairkhah; deputy minister of defense, Fazel Mazloum; minister of economy Din Mohammad Hanif; minister of Haj, Noor Mohammad Saqib; minister of borders and tribes Noorullah Noori; and minister of energy and water, Latif Mansour; are those whose travel ban exemption period has ended, and they cannot travel abroad.

Earlier, some diplomatic sources said that the United Nations Security Council members were divided over the extension of the current government’s officials’ travel exemption.—Tolonews