Govt committed to ensure protection of minorities’ rights: CM Elahi


Attends Diwali festival, cut a cake with minority communities

In connection with the Diwali festival a special ceremony was being organized at CMO in which Chief Minister Punjab Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi graced the occasion as a chief guest. CM jointly cut the cake with the Hindu and other minority communities and in connection with the Diwali festival felicitated the Hindu Community living in Pakistan.

CM was presented with an ajrak gift on behalf of the Hindu and other minority communities. CM on this occasion stated that we fully participate in the rejoice and festivities of the Hindu community on the eve of Diwali.

He revealed that the minority students are being awarded scholarships from Matric to PhD level in the government educational institutions adding that 2 percent quota has been fixed for the minority communities in the higher educational institutions.

He stated that directions have been issued to ensure implementation on the 5 percent quota in the employments for the minority communities adding that 50 percent scholarships under the educational scholarship scheme in the central Punjab,35 percent in the south Punjab and 15 percent in the northern Punjab are being awarded to the minority students.

He apprised that scholarships up to 50 thousand rupees are being awarded to the minority students obtaining 50 percent marks from Matric to higher education level.

CM underscored that by participating in one another merriments promotes tolerance and brotherhood and to safeguard the rights of minorities is the responsibility of the state. CM highlighted that all the minorities including the Hindu community have equal rights adding that the Hindu and other minority communities are being provided equal opportunities to attain education.

CM outlined that giving better treatment and respect to the minorities is the essence of the religion of Islam. Members Provincial Assembly Youdester Chohan, Nawaz Chandia, Abbas Ali Shah, Muhammad Shafique, Habkok Rafique Babu, Samuel Yaqoob, Mahindar Pal Singh, Saira Raza, Fauzia Abbas, Shahida Malika, Nohais Khokhar, Aftab Gul, Muhammad Yasin, Chairman CM Complaint Cell Zubair Ahmad Khan, Secretary Minority Affairs and Human Rights and concerned officials were also present on the occasion.

Previous articlePTI leaders criticize ECP; question withholding of Imran disqualification verdict
Next articleWhat is emotional health and well-being?