Fakhar Zaman guides Pakistan to win T20I series against Bangladesh


DHAKA – An unbeaten inning by Fakhar Zaman helped Pakistan win the second T20I match against Bangladesh by eight wickets on Saturday.

Pakistan leads the three-match series with 2-0. Shaheen achieved the soft target of 109 runs in 18.1 overs. Zaman smashed 57 off 51 balls.

Opener Mohammad Rizwan made 39 runs while skipper Babar Azam could score only one run.

Earlier, Pakistan won the toss and decided to bowl first against Bangladesh.

Pakistani bowlers also displayed stunning performance as they restricted the rival team from setting a big target.

Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shadab Khan took two wickets each while Mohammad Nawaz, Haris Rauf and Mohammad Wasim Jr took one wicket each.

From Bangladesh side, Najamul Hossain Shanto remained top scorer with 40 runs.

A day earlier, Pakistan beat Bangladesh by four wickets in the first of the three-match T20I series at the Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

Men in Green Shirts achieved the target of 127 runs in 19.2 overs. After skipper Babar Azam (7) and opener Mohammad Rizwan (11) could not give a strong opening stand to the team, Fakhar Zaman kept the scoreboard ticking as he made 34 runs before being sent to the pavilion.

Haider Ali and Shoaib Malik went for the duck while Khushdil Shah smashed 34 runs. Shadab Khan helped team to bag the victory.

Pakistan pacer Hassan Ali took three wickets while Mohammad Wasim Junior two, restricting Bangladesh from setting a tough total.

Previous articlePakistan Army chief’s youngest son gets married in Rawalpindi
Next articleCJP Gulzar denies Ali Ahmad Kurd’s allegations of judiciary being dictated