Asia Cup 2022: Two changes likely in Pakistan squad in match against Hong Kong


Two major changes are likely to be made to the Pakistan squad as the side prepares to face Hong Kong in its second Asia Cup 2022 fixture slated to be played in Sharjah on Friday, sources privy to the matter said.

They said that it has been suggested that pacers Naseem Shah and Haris Rauf be given rest in this match as the two got cramps during the Asia Cup match against India.

As per the sources, the duo is expected to be re-placed by Hasan Ali and Muhammad Hasnain. However, the Men in Green will attend a training session at the ICC Academy Ground tonight at 10pm.

Fitness troubles of Pakistani cricketers have be-come a major issue for the squad’s management during Asia Cup 2022.

The medical team and sports staff of the national cricket squad have reportedly been unable to plan adequate fitness programmes for the cricketers as many of the squad members face fitness issues, affecting their performance in Asia Cup 2022, being played in Dubai.

With Shaheen Shah Afridi already affected by a knee injury and Mohammad Wasim encountering back pain during the ongoing regional cricket event, wicket-keeper batter Mohammad Rizwan, bowlers Naseem Shah and Harif Rauf were also seen con-fronting some fitness issues amid Sunday’s Pakistan vs India match.

Dr Najeeb Soomro was appointed as a chief medical officer at the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) after he returned from Australia, while the team’s physiotherapist Cliffe Deacon and fitness trainer belong to South Africa.

Despite the presence of an experienced medical team, eyebrows are being raised at the team’s man-agement due to the high number of players suffering fitness problems.

Pakistan’s current squadBabar Azam (captain)Shadab Khan (vice-captain) Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali

Haris Rauf ,Iftikhar Ahmed Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir


Previous articleIndia, Pakistan fined for slow over-rate in Asia Cup game
Next articleICC Women’s T20 WC qualifier schedule announced