Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp has been named the League Managers Association (LMA) and Premier League Manager of the Year.

The award comes in recognition of Klopp nearly guiding Liverpool to the brink of history with an unprecedented quadruple.

Under the German’s tutelage, Liverpool won the League and FA Cups, beating Chelsea on each occasion, and will face Real Madrid in the Champions League final on Saturday in a repeat of the 2017–18 final.

Their bid for history came up just short in the Premier League title race as they finished a point behind the champions Manchester City.

“It’s a great honor and it was an insane season,” said Klopp. “The last matchday when only two games were meaningless and in the rest, we all played for absolutely everything. It was not the best outcome for us, but we are already over it.”

The 54-year-old won the Premier League Manager of the Year after votes from the public were combined with those of an expert panel, while the LMA prize was voted for by the full membership of managers across all the divisions.

“This being voted for by my colleagues is obviously most important prize you can get,” Klopp added.

Manchester City swept the player’s category with Phil Foden winning the Young Player of the Season and Kevin De Bruyne winning the EPL Player of the Season awards.

Previous articleTexas shooting: At least 21 dead including 19 children in primary school attack
Next articleAzadi March: ITP issues traffic plan