14 members of KP caretaker cabinet sworn in


PTI expresses reservations over selection

Tariq Saeed

A 14 members caretaker cabinet of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa was Thursday sworn in at Governor house, Peshawar, amid serious reservations by the opposition Party PTI.

Governor Haji Ghulam Ali administered the oath to the newly inducted members of the cabinet that mostly consists upon unknown people yet affiliated with various political parties. It also includes a former IG Police and a retired lady judge of the high court.

The oath taking ceremony, besides Caretaker Chief Minister Azam Khan, chief secretary Shehzad Bangash and senior officials, was also attended by the leaders of PDM including PML-N, Pakistan People’s Party, ANP and JUI-F.

In fact, as the sources say, the names of the caretaker ministers were finalized after a marathon session between Governor Ghulam Ali and caretaker Chief Minister Azam Khan. According to a notification issued by the Administrative Department of the KP government, the Governor has approved the interim cabinet under Article 224(1A) of the Constitution.

Those who took oath as the caretaker ministers of KP include former inspector general Syed Masood Shah, Barrister Sawal Nazir, Bakht Nawaz, Fazal Elahi, Adnan Jalil, Shafi Ullah Khan, Shahid Khan Khattak, Haji Ghufran, Khushdil Khan Malik, Taj Muhammad Afridi, Muhammad Ali Shah, Justice (retd) Irshad Qaiser, Manzoor Khan Afridi, Abdul Haleem Qasuriya, and Hamid Shah.