Zena elected WSF President



Zena Wooldridge has been elected as the new World Squash Federation (WSF) President following the WSF’s 2020 Annual General Meeting.
Wooldridge, from England, would become the 10th WSF President to serve since the Federation’s inception in 1967 and the second female. Wooldridge would serve a minimum four-year term after being elected by delegates representing 64 National Federations – a record number – who attended the 50th WSF AGM which was the first to be held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic, said a press release issued here.
Wooldridge previously served six years as President of the European Squash Federation between 2013-2019. She replaces outgoing President Jacques Fontaine, from France, who was elected President in 2016.
During his four years as President, Fontaine was heavily involved in squash’s efforts to gain Olympic recognition at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games and also strengthened ties with the sport’s professional governing body, the Professional Squash Association. Everyone at WSF thanks Fontaine for his service. Two new Vice Presidents were also elected at the AGM, while Pablo Serna – former President of the Colombia Squash Federation – has been elected for a second term for four years.—APP

Previous articleOsama clinches Quaid-e-Azam amateur golf championship Teenage Bushra wins ladies crown
Next articleIsolation has impacted preparations in NZ: Misbah