Youth sports league wrestling concludes


The University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences (UVAS) Lahore in collaboration with the Higher Education Commission (HEC) under Prime Minister Youth Programme organized a concluding ceremony of five days ‘Talent Hunt Youth Sports League Wrestling 2022’ and ‘All Pakistan HEC Inter-varsity Baseball Championship’ here in sports complex of city campus.

Member Provincial Assembly (MPA) Rana Mashhood Ahmad Khan presided over the prize distribution ceremony while UVAS Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Nasim Ahmad, Vice Chancellor University of Sargodha Prof Dr Muhammad Saleem Mazhar, Director General Sports Higher Education Commission (HEC) Islamabad Javed Ali Memon, Chairman Sports Board (UVAS) Prof Dr Rana Muhammad Ayyub, Director Sports UVAS Rana Amjad Iqbal, Senior Vice President Pakistan Wrestling Federation Arshad Sattar, Director Sports from University of Sargodha Ahmad Khan Haral and over 70 players from five region of Punjab were also present.

Addressing the audience, Rana Mashood Ahmad Khan said that wrestling had exclusive importance in the sports activities of Punjab and the government was providing facilities for the promotion of sports in the country. He mentioned development of education was the top priority of the government. He lauded the HEC for providing opportunities to the youth through Talent Hunt Youth Sports League Wrestling. He also acknowledged the role of the UVAS sports board to arranged Sports League Wrestling in a befitting manner. Speaking on the occasion, Prof Dr Nasim Ahmad said: “I am very glad to see enthusiasm of young players in this Talent Hunt Youth Sports League and I hope that in future these players will show their performance in international competition and enlighten the name of Pakistani.”

Prof Dr Muhammad Saleem Mazhar and Javed Ali Memon also spoke.

In wrestling competitions, Gujranwala team won the first position, Rawalpindi team got the second and Lahore team stood on the third position. In Baseball competitions, University of Central Punjab won the first position while Islamia University Bahawalpur got the second position. Later, Rana Mashood Ahmad Khan with other dignitaries distributed trophies among the winners of wrestling and baseball teams, and congratulated them.—APP