Women’s cricket season begins with four-team Pakistan Cup


Four teams will compete for Rs 1 million prize money (winners) from Thursday when the Pakistan Cup Women’s One-Day Tournament will explode into action.

The 14-match tournament will be staged at the iconic National Stadium and Oval Academy Ground. This tournament marks the beginning of an action-packed women’s season 2021-22 and it sees
Strikers mark their debut.

The fourth team has been added in the two domestic tournaments – Pakistan Cup Women’s One-Day Tournament and National Women’s T20 – as the player pool continues to grow gradually.

Strikers, the new-entrants, are captained by Pakistan all-rounder Kainat Imtiaz. Blasters are led by Pakistan wicketkeeper-batter Sidra Nawaz, Challengers by Pakistan captain Javeria Khan and Dynamites by Pakistan opener Muneeba Ali Siddiqui.

In line with its policy of incentivising top-performers, every player of the match will get PKR 20,000, while the runner-up team will get PKR500,000. The player of the tournament will earn PKR 50,000.

To further promote the women’s game and attract girls towards the sport, the PCB will live-stream seven matches on its official YouTube channel.

The final will be a day-night affair and will be staged at the National Stadium on 21 September. Meanwhile, the four captains have vowed to give their best in their tournament with an eye on the trophy.

Sidra Nawaz, Blasters said on Wednesday: “We have a very good team and we are really looking forward to the tournament. The aim would be to of course to win the title and make Blasters champions.

The addition of the fourth team means we will get to play more matches which augurs well for our preparations for the upcoming international season especially the World Cup qualifiers.”

Javeria Khan, Challengers said : “The goal would be to get well in the short time we have had to build-up for the event, once the tournament starts we would aim to remain in a good positive mind.

I think we have a balanced outfit that can do well and lift the trophy. My personal aim would be to make big runs and regain my batting form.”

Kainat Imtiaz, Strikers said : “This is the first time that the fourth team, Strikers is entering the tournament. The induction of the fourth team is a great incentive and motivation for upcoming players as they will get the opportunity of expressing their talent.

As Strikers captain my aim would be to deliver to the best of my abilities and lead my team to the tournament final.”

Squads for the Pakistan Cup Women’s One-Day Tournament Blasters: Sidra Nawaz (captain and wicketkeeper), Aisha Javed, Arijah Haseeb, Bibi Nahida, Fajar Naveed, Fatima Sana Khan, Gull Firoza, Momina Riasat, Nida Rashid, Noreen Yaqoob, Omaima Sohail, Saima Malik, Shawal Zulfiqar and Syeda Aroob Shah
Support staff: Waqar Orakzai (Head Coach), Aqil Khan (Assistant Coach), Rabia Siddiq (Physiotherapist) and Fizza Abid (Manager).

Support staff: Waseem Yousafzai (Head Coach), Shakir Qayyum (Assistant Coach), Anjali (Physiotherapist) and Rabail Khalid Hashmat (Manager).

Dynamites: Muneeba Ali Siddiqui (captain), Aliya Riaz, Fatima Zahra, Ghulam Fatima, Humna Bilal, Huraina Sajjad, Kaynat Hafeez, Maham Tariq, Nashra Sundhu, Neha Shermeen, Rida Aslam, Sadaf Shamas, Soha Fatima (wicketkeeper) and Syeda Insharah Asad Support staff: Muhammad Kamran Hussain (Head Coach), Muhammad Ali Niazi (Assistant Coach), Yumna Khan (Physiotherapist) and Asiya Khan (Manager).—APP

Previous articleChameera gets player of the Match award
Next articleWoakes re-enters in top 10 of ICC Test rankings for all-rounder