Women squad for Commonwealth Games announced


The chief selector of the national women’s team has retained the same team – that recorded their maiden T20I series clean sweep against Sri Lanka – for their upcoming commitments in the United Kingdom during which they will compete in a tri-series in Ireland and Commonwealth Games in England.

The squad was finalised after deliberations amongst Asmavia Iqbal, the national women team’s chief selector, head coach David Hemp and captain Bismah Maroof.

Eighteen players have been announced for the two series, which include three reserve players: Ghulam Fatima, Sadaf Shamas and Umme Hani.

Pakistan will take on T20 world champions Australia and hosts Ireland in Belfast from 16 to 24 July and play Barbados, India and Australia in Commonwealth Games on 29, 31 July and 3 August.

Ahead of their departure to the UK on 12 July, the team will undergo an extensive training session in Islamabad at House of Northern from 1 to 11 July.

Chief Selector Asmavia Iqbal: “Following a successful series against Sri Lanka, we have decided to retain the same winning combination. Not only our senior cricketers in the side displayed great cricketing acumen also our youngsters were outstanding and have raised their hands whenever the team needed them to.

“We are delighted with the start Tuba Hassan has had to her international career and feel her leg-spin will be a potent weapon for us in the days ahead.—INP