West Indies players return home after embarrassing exit from WC T20



The West Indies Men’s T20 team have departed Australia to head back to the region, following the team’s exit from the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. The return of the international players will coincide with the start of the CG United Super50 Cup, the annual regional List A tournament, with their inclusions to be confirmed this week in their respective regional squads for the upcoming event.

The players will now be available for the tournament upon their return to the Caribbean on 25 October, whilst some of the Test Players will remain in Melbourne to prepare for the upcoming Test Series against Australia. This year’s CG United Super 50 Cup will feature eight teams – the traditional six franchises who will be joined by the West Indies Academy and Combined Campuses & Colleges (CCC) teams.

The event will bowl off in Antigua on Saturday 29 October, with a match between the Leeward Islands and the West Indies Academy at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium (SVRS). Defending champions Trinidad & Tobago Red Force open their campaign on 31 October against CCC at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy (BLCA). The final will be played on Saturday 19 November at the SVRS. The other two venues for the tournament are the Coolidge Cricket Ground (CCG) in Antigua; along with the Queen’s Park Oval (QPO) in Trinidad.

The CG United Super50 tournament will showcase the traditional rivalries with players throughout the region eager to prove themselves in the List A format, with spots in the West Indies ODI set-up for next year’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup up for grabs.

Due to the returning T20 World Cup contingent, CWI will allow larger squads from the originally stipulated 14 players. However, this will only be applicable for the period prior to the departure of the West Indies Test team on 8 November when the franchises must revert to 14 players only.

The West Indies next international assignment is a two-match Test Series in Australia, with the squad set to be announced this week. The first Test will be at the Perth Stadium (30 November to 4 December) and the second, a pink ball day-night contest at the Adelaide Oval (8-12 December), for the Frank Worrell Trophy.—INP


Previous articleEat healthy, stay healthy | BY Jubel D’Cruz, Mumbai
Next articleRain forces washout of South Africa Zimbabwe clash at T20 World Cup