UAE allows transit flights from Pakistan, 5 other countries from Aug 5


DUBAI – The United Arab Emirates (UAE) announced on Tuesday that it will lift a ban on transit passenger flights from six countries including Pakistan and India from August 5.

The UAE has imposed a ban on passengers from many South Asian and African countries for several months in order to control the spread of Covid-19.

The country’s National Emergency and Crisis Management Authority (NCEMA) announced the decision to lift restrictions on the countries that also include Sri Lanka, Nepal, Nigeria and Uganda.

The UAE Embassy in Islamabad on Twitter said, “Travel for transit passengers from Pakistan will be resumed, provided that the traveler’s last destination is accepted with submission of laboratory examination within 72 hours from the time of departure, and the UAE’s airports will allocate special lounges for transit passengers”.

“In addition to applying precautionary and preventive measures to receive arrivals, including quarantine and PCR tests upon and after arrival, in addition to follow-up and health monitoring of arrivals,” read the tweet.

The UAE also announced the exception of new categories of travelers from Pakistan and the other countries to the United Arab Emirates from August 5, 2021.

“Holders of valid residence permits who have received full vaccination doses in the UAE and 14 days have passed since receiving the second dose and who have vaccination certificates approved by the official authorities of UAE,” it added.

Medical cadres working in the UAE, including doctors, nurses, technicians vaccinated and non-vaccinated, and workers in the educational sector in the UAE who teach in the universities, colleges, schools and institutes vaccinated and non-vaccinated groups will be allowed to return.

“Students studying in the UAE and humanitarian cases who hold valid residency and workers in federal and local government entities and cases of completing treatment in the UAE, whether they are vaccinated or not,” it added.

Previously, the UAE was allowing entry to its citizens, their first-degree relatives, diplomatic personnel, official delegations, UAE residents with gold or silver residency permit, businessmen and crews of cargo and transit flights.

Previous articleMore than half of Chinese companies on Fortune 500 have operations in Pakistan
Next articleChina gifts 2 million more doses of Covid vaccine to Pakistan