Sri Lankan sports minister meets CTCC members

Bipin Dani

The members of the newly formed (CTCC) met the Sri Lankan sports minister at his office on Thursday, it is learnt here. According to the highly-placed sources in the sports ministry, the sports minister Roshan Ranasinghe had invited the five members (Sanath Jayasuriya-chairman of the committee, Farveez Maharoof, Charith Senanayake, Asantha de Mel and Kapila Wijegunawardene.

“The meeting is being held to understand what the newly formed committee has in mind, what their plans are to take the game forward, particularly, when the team has to play the qualifying round matches (in Zimbabwe) for the World Cup”, one of the ministry sources confirmed before the meeting began.

In fact, Thursday’s meeting was also too brief to the minister by the members when they met the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) board officials and what transpired in the meeting earlier this week.

Thursday’s meeting is the 3rd by the committee, which was formed in April. The committee will directly provide their suggestions to the ministry and provide their road-map ahead. It will, however, be up to the minister to ensure that the right suggestions are implemented by the Sri Lanka Cricket board. The members of the committee declined to comment.