Special prayers held for Oct 8, 2005 victims


A special prayer ceremony was held at the University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (UAJK) to pay tribute to the victims of the catastrophe, which claimed the lives of thousands of people on this day, seventeenth years ago in 2005.

At least 200 students and six faculty members of the university were among the thousands of people killed in the devastating earthquake that hit the region in 2005. The ceremony was held at the monument of the martyrs in the City Campus of AJK university which was attended by the Registrar Prof. Dr. Ayesha Sohail, Dean Faculty of Sciences Prof. Dr. Ghulam Murtaza, Associate Dean of Health Sciences Dr. Bashir-ur-Rehman Kanth, Chief Librarian and Meritorious Professor Dr. Nadeem Haider Bukhari, In-charge City Campus Prof. Dr. Wajid Aziz Lone, Director Advance Studies and Research Dr. Muhammad Raffique, President Academic Staff Association Dr. Nazneen Habib, President Administrative Staff Association Israr Qadri, Chairmen, Heads of Departments, Faculty Members, University Officers and a large number of the employees. Speaking on the occasion, the Registrar of the university, Prof. Dr. Ayesha Sohail while paying glowing tribute to the sacrifices of teachers, students, and employees who were martyred in the earthquake, said that their sacrifices will never be forgotten.


Previous articleAuthorities directed to take forward TCTP
Next articleRs70b disbursed among flood victims under PM Relief Package: Muqam