Speaker constitutes committee to finalise name of caretaker CM


To finalise the name of caretaker Chief Minister Punjab, Punjab Assembly (PA) Speaker Sabtain Khan on Thursday constituted a parliamentary committee to finalize the name of the caretaker chief minister proposed by the government and the opposition.

The PA speaker issued the notification of the names given by the government and the opposition for the caretaker setup.

The government has proposed the names of Sardar Ahmad Nawaz Sukhira and Naveed Akram Cheema while the opposition has nominated Syed Mohsin Raza Naqvi and Ahad Khan Cheema for the slot of caretaker chief minister of Punjab. As per the constitution, the Speaker has constituted the parliamentary committee which will try to reach a consensus on one of the four names till today (Friday, January 20, 2023) 3 pm. Following the constitution, in case of disagreement between the parliamentary committee on any proposed name from the government and the opposition, the matter will be referred to the Election Commission at 10:00 pm tomorrow night (Friday, January 20, 2023).

In the parliamentary committee, Mian Aslam Iqbal. Basharat Raja, Makhdum Hashim Jawan Bakht, Malik Ahmad Khan, Syed Hassan Murtaza, and Malik Nadeem Kamran are included.