Shujaat suspends Elahi’s party membership



PML-Q President Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain sent a show-cause notice to fellow party leader Parvez Elahi on Monday and suspended his membership over his comments regarding the party’s possible merger with the PTI.

The show-cause notice said that Ch Shujaat summoned an emergency meeting after taking note of Elahi’s remarks on Sunday night.

Following a meeting with PTI chief Imran Khan at his Zaman Park residence on Sunday night, Elahi told the media that the former prime minister has recommended PML-Q to merge with the PTI.

“We are considering the offer of PTI chairman and have already called a meeting of our leadership on Monday to develop consensus among party members,” he said.

He shared that PML-Q leader Chaudhry Moonis Elahi has already given his consent to the envisaged merger as it will prove to be a win-win situation for both parties.

“The PML-Q joining will further strengthen the PTI. We will continue to work and cooperate even after merging in the PTI,” he maintained.

The show-cause notice said that the meeting of senior PML-Q leaders took “strict notice” of Elahi’s comments. “An explanation of your unconstitutional and illegal action has been sought,” the notice reads.

It said that the PML-Q, as a political party, has its own identity, vote bank, party discipline and manifesto which were all violated by Elahi’s comments.

The notice said that a period of seven days was being given to Elahi to provide an explanation for his comments otherwise proceedings would be initiated against him under Articles 16 and 50 of the party constitution, adding that Elahi’s basic party membership was being suspended until the explanation was provided.

In the notice, the PML-Q president said the provincial president cannot merge the party with any other party. “You are requested to explain your unconstitutional and illegal action,” read the show-cause notice.

According to sources, PML-Q cannot merge with PTI as it is registered under the name of Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain with the Election Commission of Pakistan.