Sharma replaces Kohli as India’s ODI captain


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday named opening batsman Rohit Sharma as the new captain of the national One-day Interna-tional (ODI) squad. He replaced Virat Kohli, who is now in charge of only the Test unit.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee also decided to name Mr Rohit Sharma as the Captain of the ODI and T20I teams going forward,” the BCCI tweeted.

Last month, Sharma had been appointed India’s captain for T20 team as well after Kohli relin-quished the role.

Sharma, known for his hard-hitting style, made his debut in 2007 for the national team, initially playing only limited-overs cricket before being added to the Test team as well in 2013.

He has captained Mumbai Indians to victory in the Indian Premier League (IPL) five times. Royal Challengers Bangalore, led by Kohli until his resig-nation from their captaincy as well, have never won the title.

The announcement of Sharma’s ODI captaincy comes ahead of India’s three-match ICC World Test Championship series in South Africa, beginning on December 26.

In the squad for the coming series, led by Kohli, Sharma has also replaced Ajinkya Rahane as the vice-captain of the Test side, accord-ing to a report on the International Cricket Council’s website.

Sharma has taken over as captain for India’s red-ball teams following a disappointing performance of the side during this year’s the T20 World Cup, where they were defeated.—AP

Previous articleThe Ashes: Queensland Police launch ‘investigation’ after England’s collapse on day one of 1st Test
Next articleEmployees observe black day against violence at PU