Second phase of LB polls for 18 districts in KP concluded


LB polls held for the first time in the erstwhile tribal districts

Tariq Saeed

Peshawar-March-31-2022–Polling for the second phase of the local government elections in the remaining 18 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa concluded Thursday amid foolproof security arrangements as the counting of votes continued till the filing of this report.

The first phase of LB elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in 17 districts, it may be recalled was held in December 2021 where the Jamiat-e-Ulema-e Islam of Maulana Fazal ur Rehman bagged majority seats followed by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf.

While JUI had pocketed 23 seats, PTI had managed to bag 18 seats followed by 9 seats of the independent candidates out of 66 chairman seats.

while Awami National Party (ANP) secured seven chairman seats, the Pakistan Muslim League (PML N) could only bag 3 seats and Jamaat e Islami 2. Pakistan Peoples party could not emerge victorious on a single seat.

For the second phase, polling started at 8am and will continue till 5pm without any interruption as tight security arrangements were made to avert any untoward incident.

More security has been provided to the polling stations that have been declared sensitive and most sensitive by the election commission of Pakistan.

Hence Section 144 has been imposed on the recommendation of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa police department in 18 districts of the province where polling was conducted.


Previous articlePakistan Navy inducts fast-track missile craft into fleet
Next articleNCOC closes operations as Covid-19 indicators hit ‘all time low’