RO approves IK’s nomination papers


The Returning Officer (RO) has approved the nomination papers of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan and other candidates for NA-118 Nankana Sahib by-polls. The RO rejected objections raised over the nomination papers of Imran Khan. The returning officer also approved the nominations of all 10 candidates.

The nomination papers of Ijaz Ahmed Shah, Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz’s (PML-N) Shezra Mansab Ali Khan Kharal, Pakistan People’s Party’s (PPP) Shahjahan Bhatti, Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s (TLP) Pir Afzal, Rizwan Wagah, Markazi Jamiat Ahle Hadith’s (MJAH) Rai Mulazim Hussain Kharal, Faisal Rasheed, Meher Saeed Zafar and Saira Mansab. On August 5, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan had announced to contest by-polls from all nine seats, vacated after the NA speaker accepted PTI MNAs’ resignation. According to the ECP schedule, the by-polls on the nine National Assembly seats would be contested on September 25.

The PTI chief had announced to contest elections from all nine constituencies himself. Elections would be held this year, government parties want to single him out, he had said.—INP

Previous articleNaveed stresses need to enhance trade cooperation among SCO member states
Next articleRains wreak havoc in South Waziristan