Resignations of PTI MNAs to be accepted phase-wise


The PML-N-led federal government has agreed to issue phase-wise approval of resignations tendered by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf MNAs, sources said.

The ruling coalition has formulated a strategy on the issue of the resignation of the PTI MNAs. The government coalition has agreed to accept phase-wise resignations of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf lawmakers.

Sources said that formal action is likely to be taken on the issue of resignations from June 6 and attempts are underway to convince 25 to 30 PTI MNAs to take back their resignations.

Sources said that three PTI members former federal ministers including Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Fawad Chaudhry and Shireen Mazari had announced their resignations on the floor of the National Assembly, therefore, their resignations will be accepted.

According to sources, the record of speeches of more members is being checked by the assembly staff. The members whose speech record is being checked include former speaker NA Asad Qaiser, former deputy speaker NA Qasim Suri and Asad Umar.