Reshuffle in Punjab police continues


The reshuffle in Punjab Police continued on Saturday after four more police officers were transferred since Pervez Elahi took office earlier this week.

According to a notification issued by the Punjab government, RPO Faisalabad Babar Sarfaraz Alpa, DIG Logistics and Procurement CPO Punjab Moeen Masood, CPO Faisalabad Syed Ali Nasir Rizvi and AIG Operations, CPO Lahore, Omer Saeed Malik were transferred “with immediate effect”.

On July 27, CCPO Lahore Bilal Siddique Kamyana, DG Anti-Corruption Abdul Jabbar and DPO Jhang Sardar Ghias Gul Khan were relieved of their duties.

On Friday, as many as 13 senior police officers including the Central Police Officer (CPO) Gujranwala, and DPO Attock were transferred.

Meanwhile, Additional Inspector General of Punjab Police Ghulam Mehmood Dogar was appointed as CCPO for the second time. He was removed in November last year for mishandling the Tehreek-e-Labaik (TLP) march towards Islamabad.

The reshuffle comes only a couple of months after Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) had transferred senior police officers on key positions after Usman Buzdar stepped down as the chief minister.

Previous articleWHO Europe expects more monkeypox-related deaths
Next articleHoly Kaaba gets new Kiswa