Premier reconstitutes Economic Advisory Council


Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif has approved the reconstitution of 18-member Economic Advisory Council (EAC) to review and formulate economic policies.

As per the notification of the Finance Division, the EAC would be headed by the Prime Minister while its members included Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Ahsan Iqbal, Miftah Ismail, Maryum Aurangzeb, Dr Aisha Ghous Pasha, Musaddiq Masood Malik, Dr S Akbar Khan, Dr Muhammad Nadeem Javed, Samina Khalil, Dr Masood Ahmad, Dr Ijaz Nabi, Dr Hafeez Pasha, Dr Ali Cheema, Dr Syed Muhammad Hassan Shah, Dr Akbar Hussain Shah, Dr S Manzoor Ahmad, Khurram Hussain and Sakib Sherani.

According to Terms of Reference, the EAC is being established to review and formulate economic policies in a more holistic manner and devise on short-term macroeconomic stabilization as well as structural reforms for stable and sustained economic progress. The meeting of the EAC would be convened on weekly basis on the issues of national importance.As per the scope of work, the EAC will review the overall economic condition of the country and propose possible corrective measures considering the available resources of the country, analyze the effectiveness of subsidies, protection and other financial support by the government to the State-Owned Enterprises (SOEs) and other vital sectors of the economy in the context of overall cost and benefit analysis of such subsidies/protection.INP


Previous article‘Stacks of bodies’: 46 migrants found dead in truck in Texas
Next articleImran holds coalition govt responsible for economic turmoil