PML-N retains seat in its stronghold Voter participation remained ‘cool’, like city’s weather

Staff Reporter

The counting of votes continues across the 254 polling stations in the NA-133 constituency on late Sunday, considered to be a stronghold of the PML-N, where by-election was held and where the PML-N looks to retain the seat for the fourth time.

The polling started at 8am this morning and continued till 5pm without any break after which the gates to the polling stations were closed off to any more voters.

Amid the chilly weather in Lahore, the voter response to the by-poll remained rather ‘cool’.
Polling stations saw a vote or two, cast in the morning hours which increased to a few more by the afternoon. When time for polling to end began to draw close, voter participation improved slightly.

Unofficial, preliminary results s for 205 polling stations show PML-N’s Shaista Pervaiz Malik in the lead with 37,139 votes.

PPP’s Aslam Gill is in second place with 23,684 votes. The NA-133 seat fell vacant after the death of PML-N MNA Pervaiz Malik who died of heart complications on October 11.

Previous articleFM Qureshi to visit Brussels
Next articleAdmin making all-out efforts to preserve history: Commissioner