PML-N PA members challenge suspension


Pakistan Muslim League-N challenged suspension of its Punjab Assembly members in the Lahore High Court on Thursday.

PML-N MPAs Zeeshan Rafiq, Uzma Bukhari, Samiullah Khan and others have challenged Speaker Sibtain Khan’s order in the high court.

“Speaker Punjab Assembly has unconstitutionally and illegally suspended the assembly membership,” PML-N members petitioned to the court. “Petitioners are being subjected to political victimization,” according to the petition.

“Suspension of the assembly membership is violation of the rules,” the members pleaded to the court. “PML-N members have been alleged of rioting and misconduct, while PTI’s and other members were involved in the ruckus,” PML-N pleaded.

“Targeting the PML-N members is discrimination, the court should declare the notification of suspending the assembly membership as void,” the PML-N members pleaded.

The petitioners have also requested the court to declare election of the Speaker Punjab Assembly as unlawful as “it was held unlawfully,” according to the petition.

The affected legislators included Zeeshan Rafiq, Uzma Bukhari, Samiullah Khan, Mian Abdur Rauf, Malik Waheed, Saba Sadiq, Rabia Nusrat, Rabia Naseem Farooqi, Rahila Naeem, Zaibun Nisa Awan, Kanwal Pervaiz, Gulnaz Shahzadi, Nafisa Amin, Rana Afzal, Ali Bukhsh Chattha, Sadia Nadeem, Rahat Afza and Sumbul Malik.

Previous articleWorld should not turn blind eye to rights’ abuses in IIOJK: PM
Next articleHina urges world to help resolve Kashmir dispute